Trailer Trashtastic

on a mission to live in & love our mobile home

Buggy-ful Weekend

with 13 comments

If you follow me at Sugar Dish Me you already know all about the rail buggy. An event organized this past weekend by a local Volkswagen parts dealer offered Chad and I a rare opportunity to spend an entire day devoted to his love of Vee-Dub and all things air-cooled. So we loaded up my obnoxiously large purse with bottled water and apples, jumped in the buggy, and got all set to go.

I realize that this has nothing to do with living in a trailer, painting, planting, or otherwise decorating anything, but if you have ever spent any time at a drag strip, you already know it is a completely Trailer Trashtastic activity.

We bring the boys here on hot summer evenings, the humid air thick with the smell of burned rubber and race fuel, and there is always something to see. My kids like to bet each other on which cars will win each trip down the track (this usually ends in an argument, some whining, and eventual separation with instructions to please shut up). There are super fast cars that must have cost all of someone’s retirement fund. Once there was a lady with a tiny monkey in a diaper on her shoulder sitting just below us. She was a side-show waiting to happen.


This is what I could see from up on the hill when we were driving in. A sea of Volkswagen. And some spectators.

About half of these people were here the night before the event; they offered camping and apparently were set to toss an engine block on a bonfire? The novelty of that was lost on me, probably because I’m not a boy and I wasn’t drunk.

We climbed out and I made a beeline for a string of Volkswagen buses. I have an odd sort of fascination with them. Chad wanted to register rail buggy in the show to be judged. See our #55 on the windshield? That means that we – with the rail buggy we drive often, the one that sits out in the rain, slings mud, and climbs hills – were entered into the same competition with the VW bugs, all shined and polished, brandishing the cover of the magazines that featured them. I am convinced we would have won a fancy plaque if only we’d voted for ourselves. Chad thought I was having delusions.




One thing Chad has always wanted to do is drive the buggy down the drag strip.

Like these guys. Except these beetles go really fast.
So fast they kept driving out of my photos.


But after this little green fella made a few passes we decided to give the rail buggy a go…

Click HERE to watch the video (Note: we did not post this and cannot be held accountable for the spelling errors in the title/description… Just sayin.).

We didn’t win any competitions with the rail buggy. We DID win a $25 gift card to a crappy diner though. So after a long day in the hot hot sun with only granny smith apples and water to nourish us, we hopped back in and headed for the restaurant wielding our gift certificate.

Most of the time I am a big advocate of diner food- I even started a series including Diner Classics at Sugar Dish Me. But this diner left a lot to be desired. The whole meal in fact. But the food was free so I learned to never spend any money at this place (except to generously tip our toothless waitress because she was super great) and I left with the resolve to make an edible club sandwich.


Mission accomplished.

The most important thing I learned is that in the obnoxiously large purse with the bottled water and apples, I should have included some sunscreen.

Written by Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

April 25, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Posted in About

Tagged with , , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds like an awesome day (minus the sunburn). I love the VW bus–soooo wish I had one. The diner should follow your food blog-they could learn something!

    Year Of Healthier Living

    April 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    • Haha thanks! The sunburn was torturous. I don’t usually burn at all so Chad thought the whole Heather-has-a-sunburn ordeal was pretty funny (he’s a red head lol). But I had so much fun anyway :) I really really wanna find an old bus to work on; it’s on our list… and the club sandwich is in the process of being posted as we speak!

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 25, 2012 at 10:01 pm

  2. Sounds like fun.

    creativenoshing

    April 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

  3. Glad you had fun – and you guys are just cute as a bug! :)

    eatwilmington

    April 26, 2012 at 11:36 am

  4. [...] to know all about how Volkswagen pointed me towards turkey, ham, and bacon, I wrote the whole story HERE at Trailer Trashtastic. Go on- click the link. You know you wanna. There’s [...]

  5. Looks like a good time! And you guys are super cute!

    Peggy Campbell

    April 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  6. Love the pic of the VW vans (buses, but i’m English, so they’re vans!) I’ve always wanted a fuschia pink original VW beetle – one day it will happen! And I recently decided (I think after a drink or two!) that the best thing ever, since I’m never planning to drive here, would be to get a VW van and kit out the inside as a mini-bar/art place! Again, one day…!

    thepinkrachael

    April 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    • Oooooooo– I like that idea! The buses always immediately attract my attention; I’m determined we will have one- but even the old ones that are rust buckets are expensive because they’re so sought after. Fuschia :) With white interior.

      Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

      April 26, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  7. [...] “there”, “their”, and “they’re”. Come ON! 7. I can drive the rail buggy, but only if Chad shifts the gears. For some reason me and that transmission just don’t get [...]

  8. […] “there”, “their”, and “they’re”. Come ON! 7. I can drive the rail buggy, but only if Chad shifts the gears. For some reason me and that transmission just don’t get […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

